Ms. Jeriene Bonner Grimes, President

Ms. Tanya Lafleur, 1st Vice President

Mrs. Janet Arnold Savage, 2nd Vice President

Ms. Michelle Williams, 3rd Vice President

Ms. Ashley Lester, Assistant Secretary

Ms. Agatha Knight, Treasurer

The NAACP, National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, is the oldest, largest and strongest Civil Rights Organization in the United States. The principal objective of the NAACP is to ensure the political, educational, social and economic equality of minority group citizens of the United States

The NAACP is committed to achievement through non-violence and relies upon the press, the petition, the ballot and the courts, and is persistent in the use of legal and moral persuasion even in the face of overt and violent racial hostility.


Mary White Ovington, Dr. Henry Moscowitz, Oswald Garrison Villiard, William English Walling, Ida Wells-Barnett and W.E.B. DuBois led the “Call” to renew the struggle for civil and political liberty.


The NAACP is a network of more than 2,200 branches covering all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Japan and Germany. They are divided into seven regions and are managed and governed by a National Board of Directors. The NAACP is headquartered in Baltimore, Maryland. Total membership exceeds 500,000. LEADERSHIP: Kweisi Mfume is the President and Chief Executive Officer and the official spokesperson for the NAACP. The Chairman of the Board is Mr. Julian Bond.


The NAACP was formed in 1909 in New York City by a group of black and white citizens committed to helping to right social injustices. On February 12, over the signatures of 60 persons, the “Call” was issued for a meeting on the concept of creating an organization that would be an aggressive watchdog of Negro liberties. This event marked the founding of the NAACP. The New York Evening Post backed the organization.

Cobb County NAACP is non partisan organization and DOES NOT and HAVE NOT endorsed any political candidates

Donate to the Cobb NAACP Online

NAACP Cobb County Branch | 605 B. Roswell Street Marietta, GA 30061
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 598 Marietta, GA 30061 | Phone: 770.425.5757
© NAACP Cobb County Branch